+0  
 
+1
67
5
avatar+34 

New York and Denver are in different time zones. When it is noon in New York, it is 10 a.m. in Denver. A train leaves New York at 2 p.m. (New York time) and arrives in Denver 45 hours later. What time is it in Denver when the train arrives?

 Apr 2, 2020
 #1
avatar+23562 
+2

It would be  2 PM  + 24 hours  + 21 hours in New York      =  11AM   in New York = 9AM in Denver       EDITED !

 

 

DANG  I had the wrong departure time....a lot of mistakes reading Q's today !       cheeky 

 Apr 2, 2020
edited by ElectricPavlov  Apr 2, 2020
 #4
avatar+111321 
0

LOL  !!!!

 

Me, too, EP  !!!

 

Either I'm going to have to get off the  drugs or start taking more....I haven't decided which.... 

 

 

 

cool cool cool

CPhill  Apr 2, 2020
 #5
avatar+23562 
0

Maybe we should just trade our drugs and see the improvement.....  cheeky

ElectricPavlov  Apr 2, 2020
 #2
avatar
+1

It left NY at 2 pm, which is 12 noon in Denver.
12 noon in Denver + 48 hours - 3 hours =9 am Denver time almost 2 days later. OR:

 

It left NY at 2 pm, NY time:
2 pm + 48 hours - 3 hours =11 am NY time almost 2 days later. So 11 am NY time - 2  hours ahead of Denver =9 am Denver time [ Same as above].

 Apr 2, 2020
 #3
avatar+111321 
+2

Let's  suppose  that  it takes  48  hours to  arrive

 

When it's  2 PM  in NYC it would  be  noon in Denver

 

So....it would arrive at  noon in Denver if it takes 48  hours

 

But...it only takes 45 hours =   

24  hours  + 21  hrs = 

noon  + 21 hours = 

noon + 12 + 9  hours  =

midnight + 9 hours  =   9 AM

 

 

cool cool cool

 Apr 2, 2020

14 Online Users

avatar